Jonesinforfood


Back in the Game & Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
January 6, 2010, 12:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Over the holidays there was the usual baking of Christmas cookies and other various treats, but I also found myself in a slump of “easy food”.  Things that are not usually staples in our home became far too common.  Things like veggie chicken nuggets, fish sticks, and lots and lots of grilled cheese sammies.

Granted my pregnancy took me from extreme nausea in the fall months, to exhaustion as I now enter my 3rd trimester.  Throw in a bout with pinkeye for both my son and I, and well, I guess I had some valid excuses, but still….yuck.

Double yuck after I finally got a chance to watch Food Inc. the other night.  Wow.  I mean, I had a good idea as to what was going to be covered, but boy…it was the motivation I needed to hit the organic section of the store today and plan our meals for the week to get back in the healthier choices swing o’ things.

First on our list today was for my 3 year old and I to bake a “healthier” version of one of my faves…banana bread!  With the added bonus of a little chocolate…well, ya can’t go wrong.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread (based on recipe from 1000 Vegan Recipes by Robin Robertson, but mine wasn’t vegan)

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

2 large ripe bananas

1/3 c. apple juice

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3 T. canola oil

3/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips (I used the really tiny ones)

_______________________________________

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly oil loaf pan and set aside. (make sure this is done well because it will definitely stick). 

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and then set aside.

In separate mixing bowl, combine bananas, apple juice, vanilla and oil and mix with hand mixer until well blended. 

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and fold in chocolate chips, stirring gently until the flour is just moistened.  Do not over mix.

Transfer the batter to the prepared loaf pan and bake approximately 45 to 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in to center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack for about 20 minutes before slicing.

Delicious! 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Welcome back, happy new year, congratulations!

And this looks like a great recipe – thanks for posting.

Food Inc is in our netflix queue…

h

Comment by Heather Katsoulis

Happy New Year Heather! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the movie. Disturbing doesn’t even cover it…keep me posted!

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses




Leave a Reply

