Jonesinforfood


Ghiradelli Grand Fudge Cupcakes
November 3, 2009, 4:00 pm
Filed under: Desserts

img_6522

Yesterday was my Dad’s birthday.  I already know he doesn’t really want “gifts” in the usual sense.  He much prefers just having his kids and grandkids come visit, or sharing a burger for dinner or something.  He’s also a man who loves his desserts.  When he was younger, the man could put away an entire sheet cake in a day or two and never gain a pound.  What ugly twist of fate occurred that I inherited none of those genes!?

I saw a recipe on a Ghiradelli cannister of unsweetened cocoa that I had in my cupboard for Ghiradelli Grand Fudge Cake.  It’s a two-layer cake covered in Ghiradelli buttercream frosting.  Sounded delicious, but honestly, at 6 in the a.m. yesterday with a cranky child who woke up at 5 a.m. thanks to ridiculous daylight savings, I just didn’t have it in me to do a layer cake.  I decided on cupcakes with the same frosting.

They turned out magnificently!  I don’t do cupcakes very often, so I was worried, but they were the most moist, rich, oh-so-chocolatey cupcakes I’ve ever attempted…and a big hit with the birthday boy, which was most important!

Ghiradelli Grand Fudge Cupcakes

2 c. all purpose flour

3/4 c. Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. butter, softened

1 3/4 c. sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

2 large eggs

1 1/3 c. milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Add liners to cupcake tin.

In medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt; set aside.  In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy.  Reduce speed to low and add vanilla and eggs one at a time, scraping bowl after each addition.  Alternately add flour mixture and milk (starting and ending with the flour mixture), while mixing on low speed.  Continue to mix until smooth.  Spoon into muffin liners.  Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Ghiradelli Buttercream Frosting

6 T. butter, softened

2 1/3 confectioner’s sugar

1/2 c. Ghiradelli Unsweetened cocoa

1/3 c. milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

In bowl, beat butter until light and fluffy.  In separate bowl, mix confectioner’s sugar with cocoa.  Blend sugar mixture with butter alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.  Beat until smooth.  Blend in vanilla.

My dad is also a huge fan of coffee, so at the end, I grated an espresso chocolate bar over the top for a little added flavor….

img_6525

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I. AM. DROOLING. I love Ghirardelli Chocolate. I will have to attempt to make these sometime soon.

Comment by Alicia

You know me and my cupcakes! I am printing this and making them soon! They look fabulous!

Comment by teenietidbits




Leave a Reply

