Jonesinforfood


Witches Fingers
October 25, 2009, 1:57 pm
Filed under: Desserts

Every year, all of my siblings, our spouses, and kids all gather at my parent’s house for an annual pumpkin carving.  Most years, everyone brings an appetizer, and my mom makes some central dish.

This year my contribution was dessert in the form of severed witches fingers.  I found the recipe here and made a few very small tweaks, so mine turned out like this:

img_6384

The only real differences to the recipe listed at the link is that I subbed all almond instead of the almond/vanilla mix, and used 1 1/2 tsp. almond, mostly because my mom loves almond in her cookies.  I whipped up some vanilla frosting that I colored red, and dipped the “stump” ends in to make them look a little bloody, and I painted the fingernails with green food coloring, which turned out looking greenish-blackish, and was perfect for witchy fingers.

My nieces and nephews alternated between giggling about how gross they were, and gobbling them up.  They were also a more dainty, crisp cookie than I thought they would be, and the adults loved them as well.

The pumpkin carving was also a success, and as usual, my more patient and artsy relatives turned out some pieces of art…

img_6402

Happy Halloween, everybody!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

fun, our family does the same; we used to do it the same day as keene, nh’s pumpkin festival, but now that we’ve moved we do it on halloween. happy halloween jones’!

Comment by Heather

[…] apple baby cakes on a shortbread crust with hot caramel sauce from Sue Doeden, sweet potato zuppa, witches’ fingers, chorizo and black bean soup plus great photography, caramelized balsamic red onions, Thai coconut […]

Pingback by October 26 Recipe Mega Roundup « The Heavy Table




Leave a Reply

