Jonesinforfood


Baked Apple
October 5, 2009, 1:37 am
Filed under: Desserts

Tonight I enjoyed my first attempt at baked apples.  At this moment, as I set down my spoon and reflect on my late night snack,  I can’t think of a tastier evening treat that takes so little time.  Absolutely delicious…and so, so easy.

Since there were only 2 of us still awake to partake, I only made 2, but you can just change out the size of the pan and the number of apples to make any amount.

So, I’m not going to type it out like a recipe because it’s so simple and I measured nothing, so I’ll just tell you what I did, and then let you drool over the photos.

I preheated the oven to 350 degrees.  While it was heating, I placed a small amount of water in a glass loaf pan.  Just enough to cover the bottom.   I then cored 2 nice large Honeycrisp.  You can use any apple that you like, though.   Dig out slightly around where the core would be as well, to make a little room for what you’re going to stuff it with.  Make sure you don’t cut through the bottom of the apple though.

For mine, I first placed a small amount of chopped walnuts, then packed in a little brown sugar. Then a pat of butter…maybe 1/2 T., then filled the remainder of the opening with more packed brown sugar and a small sprinkling of cinnamon and nutmeg.

For my husband’s, I omitted the nuts because he doesn’t like nuts in any of his desserts, but otherwise, pretty much did the same thing.

Place the apples in the loaf pan, and bake for oh, about half and hour.  You want the apple soft, but not smooshy.

Here is mine as it came out of the oven…

img_6223

And moments later, beautifully oozing with a scoop of Ben and Jerry’s Dublin Mudslide ice cream.  Whoa…  Plain old vanilla would be delicious.  The flavors of Irish cream and a touch of chocolate brought it to new heights. 

img_6231

I have a miserable cold right now that I can’t take anything for because of the upcoming new Jones family addition, so today, I thought nothing could make me happy, until my first scoop of this, that is.  Mmm…the tastes of autumn.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Looks wonderful! I bet your house smelled great too! I love fall and all of the wonderfulness that comes with it! My favorite time of year!

Comment by Kristine




Leave a Reply

