Jonesinforfood


A Friend’s Delicious Chicken and Fried Rice…sort of
September 28, 2009, 3:21 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes

My friend Jae and I have some pretty similar taste in food, and when I talked to her the other night and she mentioned that she’d just made tumeric and salt fried chicken and some fried rice, my mouth was watering and I was ready to head for the store.  She reminded me that I don’t really eat meat, and believe me, at that moment, I needed reminding.  I did tell her, however, that since I am nauseated most of the time, I have been eating whatever sounds appealing and I fully intended to attempt to make her recipe, that she kindly listed on her awesome food blog here….

Until I went to the store and started perusing chickens, that is.  I couldn’t do it.  So, instead, I bought some extra firm tofu and decided I’d give her recipe the old college try anyway, with some minor subsitutions.

I pretty much followed her chicken recipe to the “t”, but with the extra firm tofu.  Then I started on the Thai fried rice recipe she’d listed and realized the tomato I’d purchased spcifically for this dinner had seen it’s better days by the time I actually got around to making the dish.  So, out it went and I instead subbed what I had, which were peas.  So be it.  I also had 2 bunches of green onions and no regular onions, so I used all of them.  Turned out just fine and as I was cooking up my rice in the final steps, I threw in my cooked tumeric and salt tofu.

It was very, very good.  Catch her original recipes as listed above, or give it a shot with tofu…either way it’s delish and my husband has already declared that I can make the fried rice as often as I’d like…

img_6180

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

