Jonesinforfood


Easy Tortellini Soup
September 3, 2009, 12:44 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes

Last week we had a stretch of a few days that had highs around 70 and lows in the 50s.  Not cold, by any stretch, but a cool reminder that fall is on it’s way.  It made me long for a nice, hearty soup dinner, but honestly, my usual energy level is missing in action lately.  A quick Google search brought me to this recipe, so with a few slight modifications and not much time, I had a that delicious, warming soup dinner that I wanted.

Easy Tortellini Soup

2 T. olive oil

3 to 4 cloves of garlic, diced or put through press

6 c. vegetable stock (or so…doesn’t need to be exact.  I used about 1 1/2 boxes of pre-bought organic stock)

9 oz. pkg refrigerated Buitoni 3-cheese tortellini (or the equivalent in any brand of frozen or refrigerated tortellini)

1 1/2 lbs. tomatoes, chopped

5 to 6 oz. baby spinach leaves (I used about a 1/2 bag of prewashed leaves, which I simply rolled in bunches and sliced thin in a chiffonade.  You could also tear it or chop it…just make sure it’s washed and stemmed)

10 basil leaves (again, I prefer to chiffonade, but you can tear or chop if you prefer)

fresh cracked pepper

fresh parmesan for shredding on top

_____________________________

Add oil to stock pot or large saucepan on med heat.  Add garlic and saute until beginning to brown.  Pour in vegetable stock and tomatoes and bring to a boil.  Stir in tortellini and cook until tender (or according to pkg instructions), it should only be a few minutes if refrigerated.   Add spinach, basil and fresh ground black pepper.  Reduce heat and simmer for a few minutes.  Then ladle into bowls and top with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

So easy and so delicious!  

img_5863

img_5867

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can totallly make this. And I love the Buitoni pasta line. This will actually work well on WW. Thanks!

Comment by Alicia

I can practically smell that through the pictures… looks simple and delicious, which is some of my favorite kind of food.

Comment by jae




Leave a Reply

