Jonesinforfood


My Darling, Caprese…how I adore thee
August 24, 2009, 7:23 pm
Filed under: side dishes and salads

I think I perhaps mentioned an attempt this year to grow my own tomatoes.  We’ve gotten some, but truth is, I tried to container grow them, and having no clue what I was doing, I overcrowded.  The ones that are surviving are delicious, though, and I never understood the joy of growing my own food until this year. 

Yesterday Cooper picked a few small ones for me and I immediately thought they’d be enough for some vegetarian BLTs for tonight’s dinner.  Then I remembered the other scrumptious looking locally gown beauties I saw at our neighborhood grocery store last night, and I thought of the perfect side dish for our BLTs….a Caprese pasta salad. 

Yeah, I know…not overly original, but I can assure you that when I just had my first biteful of that basil, tomato and mozz, I didn’t care in the least!

Here’s what I did this time…

Caprese Pasta Salad

3 c. dry pasta of choice (I used whole wheat rotini)

4 to 5 med. tomatoes

10 large basil leaves

1 c. mozzarella pearls

salt and pepper

2 cloves garlic

2 T. olive oil

1 T. balsamic vinegar

__________________________

Cook pasta according to directions.  Rinse and allow to cool.

In the meantime, chop tomatoes into bite sized pieces. 

Chiffonade basil leaves by rolling them up together and slicing thinly.

Add chopped tomatoes, basil shreds and mozzarella to pasta.

In small bowl, add balsamic vinegar, garlic cloves either finely diced or put through garlic press, and salt and pepper to taste.  Slowly whisk in the olive oil.  When whisked together, pour over pasta, tomatoes, basil and mozzarella.  Toss gently and serve or chill to serve later.

Mmmm, mmmm.  I could never tire of this combination of flavors.  So simple and such a wonderful fresh taste of summer!

img_5762

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

great idea; we eat tomato mozz salads all the time, but i never thought of adding pasta.

Comment by Heather

YUM-O

Comment by Kristine




Leave a Reply

