Jonesinforfood


Beet and Goat Cheese Salad
August 23, 2009, 11:55 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes, side dishes and salads

This morning, Cooper, D.Jones and I walked to a local farmer’s market.  I have been trying to talk D.Jones into joining a local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) where you pay a fee beginning in February and throughout the growing season, you pick up a weekly 3/4 bushel box from a neighborhood drop site and enjoy locally grown, seasonal produce.

He thinks I wouldn’t use it all and we would feel awful for wasting any of it.  I’m trying to convince him otherwise.

So, when we went to the farmer’s market today, we picked up some gorgeous beets and I promptly went home and began looking up recipes with which to use them.

I found this recipe from Giada de Laurentiis and made a few minor modifications to come up with this….

Beet and Goat Cheese Salad

1/4 c. balsamic vinegar

2 large shallots, thinly sliced

1 T. honey

1/4 c. olive oil

salt and pepper

4 to 5 med to large beets, cooked and peeled and cut into bit sized cubes

4 c. mixed salad greens

1 handful walnuts and 1 handful almonds, toasted

1 oz. craisins (I used an individual snack pack)

1 ripe avocado, cut into bite sized cubes

crumbed goat cheese

___________________________________________

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Line baking sheet with foil. 

Whisk vinegar, honey and shallots in bowl.  Slowly add olive oil while whisking. 

Place cubed beets in bowl and drizzle with just enough of the above vinaigrette to toss to coat.  Place beets on foil-covered baking sheet and roast  for 12 to 15 minutes.  The beets will begin to carmelize. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

Toss mixed salad greens, walnuts, almonds, and craisins with remaining vinaigrette.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Divide salad between 2 to 3 large plates.  Place cubed avocado and beets on top of salad and then sprinkle with goat cheese. 

img_5751

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oooh risky woman with your soft cheese! You’re not making things easy for me… I’ve been wanting it so badly for weeks now 😦

This looks really good! I like to make something similar to this with beets, bleu cheese, and caramelized walnuts with a homemade honey balsalmic vinaigrette. Yum yum! You’re making me really want it now and fresh beets are near impossible to find around here *cry*

Comment by jae

this looks awesome. as soon as i get back from vacation i’m going to make it. thanks for sharing. 🙂

Comment by Heather

Ha! Jae – I happen to know that you were eating sushi last week thanks to your mom’s comments on her photos on FB…so there! My cheese was pasteurized, so who’s the cheater now, hmmm??? 😉

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

Crap! I wish I could read the freakin’ labels here so I knew what WAS pasteurized and what isn’t 😦 That dinner was my last shebang though… I haven’t had a bite of anything I’m not supposed to eat since. Which sucks because I want smoked salmon right now! Send me some of that cheeese! haha

Comment by jae




Leave a Reply

