Jonesinforfood


Tomato Pie
August 4, 2009, 11:59 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes

Yet another way to use those juicy, ripe, scrumptious tomatoes from your garden.  This time, I made a spinoff of a southern dish that I’ve heard called “Mater Pie”.  It usually has bacon in it, and I made a few other small changes.  Either way, it turned out deeeelish!

Tomato Pie

3 to 4 tomatoes

1 deep dish pie crust (if you make your own, more power to ya.  I bought an all-vegetable frozen version)

3 to 4 green onions

2 vegetarian sausage patties

3/4 c. nayonaise (or regular mayo, but not miracle whip)

1 c. sharp cheddar, shredded

And here it is.  Simple as…you guessed it…pie.  (My apologies for that one.  I couldn’t help myself).

Preheat oven to 350.  Pre-bake your pie crust for 5 to 7 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool while you do the rest.  Slice tomatoes and layer them in to the pie crust. 

img_5528

Heat the vegetarian sausage patties through, and then use a fork to mash them into crumbled sausage.  Sprinkle over tomatoes.  Slice green onions into small rounds and sprinkle over the sausage.  Sprinkle the shredded chedddar on top of that, and then top with the mayo.  Do your best to spread the mayo on so it’s even.  If it mixes with the cheddar, that’s fine, just try to make it look smooth and relatively evenly spread.

Bake for 40 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned on top.

img_5531

With the addition of a side salad, it was perfect.  I must say, the bottom crust did get a tad soggy, so I might experiment with trying to get some of the juice and seeds out of my tomatoes next time, but it wasn’t too bad, and both D.Jones and I loved it!

img_5545

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey, we made some tomato pie, too. it’s so yummy!
tomato pie

Comment by Heather

Oh my goodness, Heather! The coincidences we discover are hilarious!
Yours (your dad’s?) looks delicious too, and perhaps slightly healthier! I was kinda grossed out by the amount of mayo in this one, but it was tasty~ I’m going to try your version next…

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

That looks really DELICIOUS! I can’t wait to try that out when I have an oven 😦 pout

Mmmmm I’m loving the last picture. You could add just about anything to this pie. It’s looks like a noodle-less fresh lasagna.

Comment by jae

Excellent work on this article. It makes for an interesting and Thoughtful read.

Comment by Gardener

mmmmmm! delicious! I tried this recipe tonight, but added some zucchini, drained cottage cheese, & Mrs. Dash for seasoning. Also cut out some of the mayo. My family devoured it!

Comment by Brandy

I’m so glad, Brandy!! Thanks for commenting! Adding zucchini is a great idea! And anything that cuts down on the mayo is clearly a bonus. Do you think the cottage cheese is necessary if you cut down on the mayo? I’m thinking I should try your version! 🙂

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

I made the changes because I was feeding this to my 21 month old daughter and I wanted it to be a healthier dish for her. The cottage cheese was to give her extra protein and I cut back on mayo just to cut some fat. What’s funny is that in the end she refused to eat it. 🙂 Picky toddlers. The rest of the family liked it, though.

Comment by Brandy




Leave a Reply

