Jonesinforfood


Arugula Salad and Puff Pastry Pizzas
July 24, 2009, 7:50 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes, side dishes and salads

I’ve been eating a vegan diet for some weeks now and haven’t found it too difficult to maintain, honestly, until today.  Today I thought I’d make my cheesehead hubby a nice little treat before I had to run off to class and leave him with the wild child.  My husband hasn’t protested one bit about not having anything other than soy cheese  in the house lately, though I know it’s a hardship for him.  The man loves his cheese, and truth be told…I’m guilty as well.

So, in good faith I made these little puff pastry tidbits and next thing ya know, I was diving into the gouda.  I’m so ashamed.  Not really.  It was delish.

Anyway, I figure I’ll just limit that kind of stuff and still try to eat conscientiously for the most part.  Thankfully I never did place a title on anything I’m doing as far as eating and/or lifestyles, so I’m not a cheating vegan or anything, I’m just a girl who doesn’t want to do any harm, but can’t always give up the goods.  🙂

Kay, here’s what we had for dinner last night that caused my downfall.  The salad was good, but honestly, I prefer spinach to arugula, or a nice mix of both.  Arugula alone to me is just too much.

Arugula Salad

1 package of organic pre-washed arugula leaves

1/2 large while onion, thinly sliced

2 med tomatoes, cut in wedges

Dressing:

2 T. olive oil

1 T. lemon juice

1 T. white wine vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Combine arugula, onion & tomato.  Whisk dressing ingredients with a fork or small whisk and drizzle over salad.  Toss gently.

img_5411

The salad was nice and light, and I love using the fresh, sweet, summer tomatoes.  Which leads me to “the” pizza bites.  Mmm…worth every minute of the cheese consumption.

Meditteranean Puff Pastry Pizza Bites

1 sheet of puff pastry dough (if frozen, thaw according to directions)

3/4 c. shredded gouda

1 diced tomato

1/3 c. kalamata olives, pitted and chopped

1/2 c. crumbled feta

minced basil for topping, if desired

Unfold puff pastry and cut sheet into 16 squares.  Transfer squares to greased baking sheet.  Sprinkle squares with gouda, then top with tomatoes, olives and feta.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 18 minutes or until beginning to brown on edges and bottom of puff pastry.

Sprinkle with basil, if using, and serve warm. 

img_5413

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

