Jonesinforfood


Donuts – Round 1
July 16, 2009, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Desserts

I have been looking at vegan donut recipes online for a couple of weeks now.  I do miss a good breakfast pastry, especially with one of the best bakeries in the city right in my backyard.  Ugh…the temptation!

Many of the vegan donut recipes seemed just so precise, though, and very involved.   One I read actually had a disclaimer after every step that was something like  “**if you do not follow this step exactly, they will not turn out!**”.  Man, if that’s not a “Do Not Enter” sign for a recipe, I don’t know what is!

What I ended up doing was combining the easiest steps of a handful of recipes and trying one out.  I basically just crossed my fingers since I’ve never made donuts at all before, much less Vegan Baked Donuts.  I did have to make one quick trip to Kitchen Window in Uptown, too, to purchase a donut pan, but it was only around $15.

Here they are:

Vegan Baked Donuts

1/3 c. Earth Balance vegan margarine

1/2 c. sugar in the raw (any sugar is fine, it’s just what I used)

Equivalent of 1 egg for egg replacer (ener-g) 

1 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour

2 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 c. vanilla soymilk

Cream butter, sugar and egg replacer.  Mix in dry ingredients and soy milk and mix well.  Spray donut pan lightly with olive oil and then spread donut batter into donut rounds, not quite to the top of the mold. 

img_5325

 Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

img_5330

Turn out onto cooling rack.

Dip donuts in melted Earth Balance spread and then into cinnamon and sugar in the raw mixture. 

Next, just enjoy with a big cup of coffee.  Mmmm…warm donuts in the morning.  Makes for a lovely start to the day~

img_5336

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Those look totally yummy! And even better, do-able. Not being vegan, do you think I would be able to substitute regular butter and regular milk (maybe with a little vanilla tossed in)? If so, what kind of milk? Skim, whole…? Thanks!

Comment by Kris

Absolutely Kris! You would use the same amount of butter (just real stuff), and then instead of the egg replacer that I used, you’d use 1 egg, beaten. For the milk, you could use whatever you like. If you want them to be lower cal, obviously you could use skim. If you want them to taste a little richer, you could use 2% or even whole milk.

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

Oh, and in the end, you’d dip them in melted butter instead of the Earth Balance. I’m going to try another recipe in the next week or so with a donut glaze, too. I’ll keep ya posted on how it goes! 🙂

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

Thanks! If they taste 1/2 as good as they look, the investment for the pan will be worth it.

Comment by Kris

These came out just fine without using the donut mold pan. Thanks for sharing this with me, I really enjoyed them!

Comment by David




Leave a Reply

