Jonesinforfood


Can’t Stay Away & Chocolate Chip Cookies
July 14, 2009, 2:55 am
Filed under: Desserts

So, from June 1 to July 13th, I took my hiatus, but I can’t stay away.    Not a day goes by that I don’t try something new, or make something new and think “I should blog about that!”.   Okay, maybe one day or two goes by that it doesn’t happen, but for the most part, I miss posting stuff about the food I love here, so I’m back.

A few things have changed since I left.  One is that my friend Jenni talked me in to re-trying the Quantum Wellness 21-day cleanse that I attempted at the same time last year.  The deal is that it is a vegan, caffeine free, alc0hol free, gluten free, and sugar free cleanse to clear your mind and body.  Last year I made  it about 6 days.  This year?  About 8.  Better, but still not 21 days.  That’s crazy…

I did, however, realize that the vegan diet part of the cleanse felt good to me.  I haven’t turned back, so although I’m enjoying the vino that I love so much, and a wonderful warming hot mug of soy vanilla latte in the a.m., I have stuck to the vegan eating regimen for over three weeks now and I feel great!

I’m not sure if I can actually call myself a vegan because I do love my leather shoes, but does it count if you already own them?  Huh.  Good question.  But either way, I’ve found some awesome vegan recipes that I’m looking forward to sharing with you, and also maybe a miss or two, too….but I’ll be honest and let you know about those as well.

Sorry for the hiatus, but I’m so happy to be back that I’m going to get right back to it and kick off this party with the vegan chocolate chip cookies that I baked tonight.   They turned out pretty good and definitely hit the spot during my viewing of The Bachelorette~

Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 cup vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance sticks)

 1/2 cup sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup vanilla soy milk

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

3 cups quick  cooking oats

1 cup vegan chocolate chips

___________________________

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat sugar, brown sugar, margarine, and vanilla until smooth.  Add soy milk and beat again until well combined.

Add flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and stir into sugar/margarine mixture.   Add oats and chocolate chips and stir until well combined.

Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake approximately 12-16 minutes or until beginning to brown and they hold together nicely when removing from cookie sheet with spatula.

img_5291

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

welcome back! have you started school work?

Comment by Heather

Thanks Heather!! Yep…in school now, but I’m only taking one course this summer session, but I also volunteer at a youth shelter.
This Fall will be more hectic with 2 classes and one of them is stats!! Ugh…the dreaded stats class! I avoided it like the plague in my undergrad studies and here it is again!! LOL!

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

I am so glad you’re back! Although I am the furthest thing from being a vegetarian, I love this blog because I love food! Although I do have to say that vegan doughnuts and cupcakes make me cringe, just a little. Really, if you cannot use real butter and milk, what is the point? 🙂

Comment by teenietidbits




Leave a Reply

