Jonesinforfood


Spring Sugar Cookies
April 12, 2009, 2:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

In addition to the Thyme-Lemon bars I decided to bring to Easter brunch at the ‘rents, I thought some lovely cutout sugar cookies would be a nice addition. 

Believe it or not, I’v never made sugar cookies.  Gasp!  I know!  Craziness.  Who hasn’t?!  Well, me, I guess.  Either way, I found a recipe online that seemed simple enough and decided to give it a shot.    Unfortunately, in my distraction to get all of this done and also take the boy out to the zoo to visit the “zoo farm babies”, I didn’t actually jot down where I got the recipe.  Ooops.  Someone deserves cred, I’m just not sure who.  Oh well…here it is.

Sugar Cookies

1 1/2 c.  butter, softened

2 c. sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

5 c. all-purpose flour 

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  Stir in the flour, baking powder and salt.  Cover and chill dough for at least an hour or even overnight.  (this is really imporant, as when this dough is not cool enough, it’s nearly impossible to work with)

Preheat oven to 400F.  Roll out dough on floured surface until 1/2 to 1/4″ thick.  Cut into shapes and place on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 6 to 8 minutes depending on thickness, or until beginning to lightly brown.  Cool completely.

img_40831

To glaze:

1 c. powdered sugar

1 T. light corn syrup

3 T. water

food coloring if desired

Mix it all together with a fork in a small bowl until well blended.  I used a small knife to smooth it evenly over the cooled cookies.  I then immediately topped mine with a sprinkle of decorative sugar just because I like the extra sparkle it gives them.  I think they turned out pretty good.  The glaze hardens pretty well, so they will be easy to transport to brunch.

img_4089

img_4090

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

too cute, and they look so yummy. happy easter, jones’!

Comment by Heather

Thanks Heather! Happy Easter! 🙂

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses

I am afraid of the roll-out cookie. I suck at them. I actually have a sugar cookie recipe you don’t need to roll the dough out for. How sad is that?

Yours came out really pretty, K!

Comment by Alicia

[…] most of Saturday afternoon and evening making my contribution to Easter brunch, which you can find here and here on my food blog.   Doug’s cousin Mike and his wife Joanna were in town for Seder […]

Pingback by Easter « Whatsupwiththejoneses’s Weblog




Leave a Reply

