Jonesinforfood


Spicy Vegan Potato Salad
April 5, 2009, 3:59 pm
Filed under: side dishes and salads, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Even though when I looked out my window this morning, I saw this…

img_3971

and this….

img_3972

I still remembered that it’s Palm Sunday.  Which means that Easter is only a week away.  Which means that it’s Springtime.  Or should be anyway.  Snow?  On April 5th?  I mean, c’mon.  Even in Minneapolis that’s just wrong.

But anyway, back to my early morning train of thought.  So, it should be springtime and springtime for some reason equals my mom’s potato salad.  Or at least the early version of it.  If I’m lucky I get many opportunities throughout the summer to enjoy it.

They say that you shouldn’t mess with perfection, and my mom’s potato salad is definitely perfection, but I thought I’d actually try my hand at making up a potato salad from scratch.  All my own doing.  Which is kind of scary, but exciting nonetheless.  I mean, I seriously love potato salad and you may remember my attempt at a vegan potato salad last year, though that was loosely based on my mom’s.  This one’s all mine, and so I can do what I want….and I like spicy.  Not crazy spicy…though I do recall a time many many years ago that D.Jones bet me to eat some super sonic chicken wings that came with a warning that said they could cause blisters around your mouth.  Yeah, that’s smart…and I did it.  Gross.

Okay, back to my potato salad.  Here it is.  If you like potato salad and you like spicy…this is good.  Very good.

And for those of you who know D.Jones, you know he doesn’t eat potato salad or pasta salad.  He says pasta and potatoes are not meant to be served cold.  Weirdo.  But this morning I needed a taste tester other than myself and he was kind enough to oblige.  So drumroll…..he loved it!  I never thought I’d see the day!

Spicy Vegan Potato Salad

4 to 5 potatoes depending on size

3 stalks of celery

1/2 red onion

8 radishes

1 c. light canola mayo

1 T. dijon mustard

1 tsp tabasco

2 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp celery seed

fresh ground black pepper to taste

__________________________________________________

img_3973

Put the potatoes in a large pot and cover with water.  Put on stovetop on high heat to boil until potatoes are fork tender. 

While the potatoes are boiling, dice the celery, red onion and radishes and put in large mixing bowl. 

When potatoes are fork tender, remove from water to cool.

While potatoes are cooling, mix canola mayo (I’ve never used this particular product, but it’s good), dijon, tabasco, sugar, salt, celery seed and black pepper.  Set aside.

img_3979

When potatoes are cool to the touch, remove the skins, and cut into bit sized pieces.   Add potatoes to vegetable mixture and fold together gently so as not to break up your potatoes.

Scoop dressing on top of potato/veggie mix and fold in lightly until well-blended.

Can be served at room temperature immediately or chill and serve.

img_39842

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This looks delish….you have the kitchen thing really rolling. If anyone reads this you have to know that Kristin as a child or young woman wouldn’t even venture in the kitchen…she wanted nothing to do with baking or cooking. Just look at her now, I knew she would eventually come around.

Comment by mom




Leave a Reply

