Jonesinforfood


Kukoo for Couscous
April 3, 2009, 11:06 pm
Filed under: Main Dishes | Tags: , ,

img_3939

I love couscous.  I love regular couscous and israeli couscous.  I love couscous plain or tossed with just about anything.  Imagine my joy at having a certain 3 year old in my life who also loves couscous!  So easy and so delicious.

I found a recipe in my Quick Vegetarian Pleasures cookbook the other day that I have somehow overlooked, and have looked forward to trying it out for over a week now.  Tonight was our night.  And fresh bakery bread to go with it, courtesy of my sister the baker.  Thank you Dawn!

Baked Couscous with Spinach and Pine Nuts 

(Quick Vegetarian Pleasures by Jeanne Lemlin)

1 cup couscous

1 1/2 cups boiling vegetable stock

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced  (I put it through my garlic press)

1 large onion, diced

28 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained (reserve 1/3 cup juice)

1 1/2 T. minced fresh basil

1/3 cup pine nuts

5 cups loosely packed fresh spinach, stems removed and leaves torn into small pieces

fresh ground black pepper to taste

1 c. grated Muenster

Serves 4

Combine couscous, boiling stock and salt in large bowl.  Cover with a plate.  Let sit 5 minutes, then fluff with fork.

Preheat oven to 375F.  Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Saute garlic and onions 10 minutes or until tender.  Add drained tomatoes and cook 10 more minutes, stirring frequently.

img_3941

Stir tomato mixture into the couscous and mix in reserved tomato juice, basil, pine nuts, spinach and pepper.

Spread half the couscous into a 12×7 baking dish or other shallow baking dish.  Sprinkle with cheese, then top with remaining couscous.  cover with foil and bake 25 minutes or until hot and bubbly.

Delicious and pretty too!  I mean, just look at those colors!

 D.Jones was happy as a lark that there is enough leftover for him to have it for lunch tomorrow, and the fresh baked sesame levain on the side from Rustica Bakery made it all the more fabulous.

img_3953

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks scrumtious! I am going to try it!

Comment by Kristine

Let me know what you think, Kristine! I should note that I used less spinach than the recipe calls for. I actually just got a medium sized container from the salad bar at Whole Foods and filled that with spinach, so I’m not entirely sure how much it was…

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses




Leave a Reply

