Jonesinforfood


Mmmm…”Meat” Loaf!
April 1, 2009, 12:36 am
Filed under: Main Dishes

A week or two ago, a new online friend commented on my post for vegetarian meatloaf here.  She directed me to another link, letting me know she had some other good vegetarian meatloaf recipes that I may be interested in. 

Now, I’ve recently been reading about the overly processed soy in things like store bought veggie burgers, some soy sausage products, etc., and had just made the commitment to no longer purchase those products for our household when I got her note.  Perfect timing!

Tonight I finally had the opportunity to make the recipe here, titled My All-Time Favorite Meatless Meatloaf.   

As I purchaed the necessary ingredients at Whole Foods Market this afternoon, I didn’t actually think through what i was going to mix together to make a “meatless meat loaf” out of, but once I got home and started mixing them in the bowl, I must admit, I was a bit skeptical.  I couldn’t help thinking things like “you’re telling me this random combo of cottage cheese, walnuts and eggs is going to make something that will miraculously taste like meatloaf!?”  Well, she’s right!  It certainly does taste like meatloaf…but better!!  And now, her recipe is also my “all-time favorite meatless meatloaf”.

I also loved her idea of making individual little meatloaves in a muffin tin.  I used a large-sized muffin tin, making the recipe into 6 meatloaf sections.  I also topped each one with a little bit of organic ketchup before I stuck them in the oven to bake.  They were perfect.  One was enough for me, and D.Jones had 2 1/2, splitting one with Cooper.

Seriously.  Make them.  They are absolutely fantastic! 

I served ours up with my recent Orzo Salad here, and some orange slices….

img_3878

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

so glad you liked ’em!

Comment by Heather Katsoulis

That actually sounds good. I’m always on the hunt for a good meatless meatloaf recipe because while I love the taste of meatloaf, I hate all the… meatiness. Seriously, I don’t know how Dave puts that stuff away like it’s going out of style.

Thanks for the recipe!

Comment by jae

[…] vacant bank location in Eagan, a Chowhound talks up Date Night at the Red Stag, and Jonesinforfood celebrates a meatless meatloaf recipe. var addthis_pub = “heavytable”; var addthis_options = ‘favorites, […]

Pingback by Red Lobster to Acquire Oceanaire « The Heavy Table




Leave a Reply

