Jonesinforfood


Mmmm…Muffins!
March 25, 2009, 2:44 pm
Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: , ,

I am no longer purchasing any pre-made breakfast goodies after I read this  article on the poisons that long-time supposedly family-friendly products and companies like Quaker think are okay to include in the recipe.  Mercury with your breakfast anyone?

Plus, I love muffins and what’s better than homemade muffins!?

This morning I was going to try a recipe called “Fruit Juice Muffins” from Jeanne Lemlin’s book Quick Vegetarian Pleasures.  I started out good, but then honestly, I started looking at a recipe on the opposite page, and accidentally combined the two.  Ooops.  However, the end result was a very delicious little (huge) muffin, so I’ll tell you what I did instead of giving you the “real” recipe.  I’ll call them…

Accidentally Delicious Muffins

1 1/2 cups flour 

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 T. baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 medium apple, peeled and grated (I used Pink Lady because they are the best apple on earth, in my opinion)

1 large egg

1/3 cup vegetable oil  (I actually used half olive oil, have vegetable oil only because of availability issues)

1/2 cup frozen apple juice concentrate

1/2 cup water

Preheat to 425F.  Liberally butter the insides and top of either a regular-size muffin pan, or, as I did, a large size muffin tin (only 6 muffins). 

In a large bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Stir in the walnuts and grated apple.

In separate bowl, combine oil, apple juice concentrate and water.  Add in the egg, already slightly beaten.  Whip together until well-blended.  Stir into dry mixture until evenly moistened.  Spoon into muffin pan.

Bake 15 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool slightly before serving. 

Sweetened only by the apples and the apple juice concentrate, I feel wonderful about serving these to my son for breakfast.  Oh, and to myself too, of course.  Deeelish!

img_3752

img_3757

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That is hilarious that you mixed the two and they still came out so good!

I’ve decided to start making some of our stuff, too. I found a few really good recipes for granola bars. Once I make them, I’ll forward you the recipe for the best one!

Comment by Alicia




Leave a Reply

