Jonesinforfood


A Booze-Filled Kickoff
March 14, 2009, 1:39 am
Filed under: Beer, Wine & Cocktails | Tags: , ,

I sometimes have a hard time coming up with ideas to blog about here.  Of course, all family goings-on, I write about on our family blog, so those are out.  I only cook so much…which is much less than my husband would prefer, proably, and when we go out to eat, it seems we often end up at the same places, leaving not much new to say there, either.

Therefore, I decided to include some entries here about something that D.Jones and I know a little bit about…booze!

img_3618

Now, this photo is a pretty good representation of D.Jones and I on a Friday or Saturday night.  And no, I’m not referring to D.Jones being a jackass.  Really.  What I’m saying is that on weekend nights (well, and some other nights of the week, too), we are often enjoying a little drinkie-poo.  Or two.  Or three.

Thing about this picture is that I would normally be sipping a red wine of some sort, not this sparkling wine.   However, this particular sparkling wine and I have a history.  Once upon a time, a waaaay long time ago, I ran into Henn/Lake Liquors to pick up a sixer of Summit for D.Jones and I told the guy that I was looking for a good, but not too expensive champagne/sparkling wine for our wedding guests.  We didn’t want to break the bank, but being that I love me some o’ the bubbly, I didn’t want to go way cheapo, either.  He quickly ushered me to the Cristalino, telling me that this sparkling wine is known for being quite tasty for the price.   I decided to give it a go, and indeed, he knew what he was talking about.  It’s not bad!  It’s not Dom, but hey, for the price, it’s definitely not bad. 

So imagine my surprise when D.Jones hit the South Lyndale Liquors the other night during their wine sale and found it for….drumroll….$7 a bottle!?  Seriously.  That’s almost funny it’s so ridiculous.  That puts it in the realm of good old Cook’s and that’s just not right.  He came home with 2 bottles for me and I was happy to have my good friend back for the weekend.  Tonight I’ll be sipping with one hand, while digging into a monstrous bowl of popcorn sprinkled with good parm while I watch a chick flick solo.

See, Friday nights are also the night D.Jones deserts me for online poker.  So, while he folds and hits and whatever else they do, he’ll be sipping some of his brew selections for the weekend.  First up on his menu was the one pictured above.  A Black Bier from Dark Horse Brewing Company out of Michigan.  He’s always excited to try a new beer, and having tried some other beers from Dark Horse (Scotty Karate, for one) he decided to give this one a go.  His review?  He says it’s okay.  The good points are that it’s thick and chocolatey, full-flavored and has a dry finish.   He says it’s good.  He prefers the more hoppy beers.  The hoppier the better, in fact, so this one won’t make his favorites list, but it’s a good one. 

I think he’s still on a hop high from all of the Hopslam he’s been consuming lately, and I think I’m right, because I just asked him what’s next on his beverage menu for the evening and he said “Furious” (from Surly).  Exactly as I suspected.  Hops.

Well,  my friend Cristalino and I are off to choose our chick flick.  Salud!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

