Jonesinforfood


Vegetarian “Meatloaf” and Corn Fritter Casserole
January 31, 2009, 1:21 am
Filed under: Main Dishes | Tags: , ,

My father-in-law is staying with us for the weekend, and our usual M.O. is to go out for dinner for every single meal.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve cooked for him before, but not frequently.  This time, though, I was bound and determined to make a yummy meal that my non-meat eating husband would love and that my pretty mainstream with his eating habits father-in-law wouldn’t think was crazy.

I did it!!  Rave reviews all around! 

Now, I’m not sure where I originally got these recipes, as they were jammed into my recipe box that hasn’t been opened probably since we moved into our current home 2 years ago, so there is credit due…I’m just not sure where.  Ooops.

Vegetarian Meatloaf

1 c. chopped celery

1 c. chopped carrots

1 medium onion, diced finely

3 garlic cloves, finely diced or put through a garlic press

1 T olive oil

3/4 c. ketchup

1/3 cup dry breadcrumbs (I used Italian style)

2 large eggs

1 12-oz pkg meatless ground burger (Boca)

1 12-oz pkg Morningstar sausage crumbles

Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine first 4 ingredients in food processor and process until finely chopped. (I don’t have a food pro, so I did it by hand…either way is fine). 

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium high heat and add onion mixture.  Saute until tender.

In separate large bowl, combine eggs with ketchup and breadcrumbs.  Add in burger and sausage crumbles.   Mix well.  Add onion mixture.  Mix well.

Press all into 9×5 loaf pan coated with cooking spray.  Spread remaining 1/4 c. ketchup over the top.  Bake 35 minutes, then let stand for 5 to 10 minutes before serving.  (this isn’t entirely necessary, it just helps the pieces stay together better)

Yields 8 slices

Alongside the “meatloaf” I served this Corn Fritter Casserole.  Holy goodness…but then, I heart corn in a big way.

Corn Fritter Casserole

3 T butter, softened

3 large egg whites

1 8oz block of low fat cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. finely chopped onion

1/2 c. finely chopped red bell pepper

1 can whole kernel corn, drained (or use equivalent in frozen corn, thawed)

1 can cream-style corn

1 pkg corn muffin mix (Jiffy)

black pepper to taste

Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 375.  Combine first 3 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk or fork until smooth.  Stir in onion, bell pepper, and both cans of corn.  Mix well.  Add muffin mix, and freshly ground black pepper to taste.  (maybe 1 tsp or so?).  Stir until well combined.  Pour into 11×7 baking dish coated with cooking spray.  Bake at 375 for 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out  clean.  Yields 9 2/3 c. servings.

img_3295

I served it all with an additional side of steamed haricot verts, and it made a fabulously delicious, well-rounded meal if I do say so myself.  That corn fritter casserole is rich and to-die.  The meatloaf was much better than I thought it would be, and my husband dug in for seconds of both.  My father-in-law raved over the corn casserole, and commented that he really enjoyed the meatloaf.  Cooper ate the green beans.  Hey…ya can’t win ’em all, right?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I never liked meatloaf because of its… well… meatiness. I grosses me out. Maybe I should try this one instead!

Comment by jae

[…] Cannon visits Bon Vie, The Joneses try making Vegetarian “Meatloaf” and Corn Fritter Casserole, Bill Roehl visits Ansari’s Mediterranean and Paul Robertson reminds us of summer at the Fair. […]

Pingback by 31 Jan 09 Morning Roundup « The Heavy Table

I have to laugh looking at your picture of this meal: we love vegetarian meatloaf, we use Heinz organic ketchup, we have those plates… 🙂

Anywho, here are a few more recipes if you’re looking to compare. The first is my favorite:
http://www.squidoo.com/vegetarian-meatloaf

Heather

Comment by Heather

[…] Main Dishes A week or two ago, a new online friend commented on my post for vegetarian meatloaf here.  She directed me to another link, letting me know she had some other good vegetarian meatloaf […]

Pingback by Mmmm…”Meat” Loaf! « Jonesinforfood




Leave a Reply

