Jonesinforfood


Cookies!!
January 30, 2009, 6:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I don’t bake very much, but find cookies kind of fun (and easy) to make.  I don’t bake those very often because Cooper is obsessed with my Mom’s cookies (aka: Grammy cookies!), so we usually have plenty around.

Today I thought I’d bake a few homemade cookies for Papa’s arrival from Wisconsin, and I’ve been looking for an excuse to further my search for the perfect cookie recipe.  I’ve been manipulating oatmeal cookies for over a year now trying to find one that I not only like, but loooove.

My attempt today got me much, much closer to cookie perfection…with a few calls home to mom for advice.  But hey…an expert is an expert, right?

So, here’s today’s attempt:

img_3288

Kristin’s Cookies – Attempt # 26 (?)

1 3/4 sticks butter  1 stick softened to room temp, 3/4 stick melted in microwave

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 t. baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups Quaker Oats quick-cooking

1/2 cup Ghiradelli white chocolate chips

1 cup Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate chips (60 % cacao)

Preheat to 350.  Beat butter and sugars until creamy.  Add eggs and vanilla, beat well.  In separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.  Mix well.  Add dry ingredients to butter/sugar/egg mixture.  Mix well.  Stir in oats and chocolate.  Mix well.  Drop by rounded tablespoon on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake until they begin to lightly brown on top.  I cool them on a sheet of tinfoil on the counter so there’s easy clean-up.   Makes slightly more than 3 dozen cookies.

img_3289

My first batch is lined up along the top side of this picture.  Perhaps you can tell that they are flatter than the others.  I had gone light on the flour, and after a quick call to my Mom, adjusted the recipe.  The remainder turned out perfectly shaped….thanks Mom.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am adding this recipe to my box, right next to Chowmein Hotdish! I am going to give them a try this weekend. Sounds like a nice finish to Super Bowl Sunday! They sound scrumptious. And besides, oatmeal is really good for you!

Comment by teenietidbits

Um, yum! I would normally rush home and make these tonight (I am a huge fan of ghiradelli chocolate), but my newfound eat-well mindset is stopping me.

I will make them someday though. Mark my words.

Comment by Alicia




Leave a Reply

