Jonesinforfood


Mom’s Potato Salad – Made Vegan
October 9, 2008, 10:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

My mom makes the best potato salad in the world.  My brothers request it for their birthdays, their kid’s birthdays, and any other reason they can think of to get my mom to make it.  She also makes it every year for their annual 4th of July celebration at their cabin.  It’s seriously good.

I’ve never made potato salad on my own.  I’m usually my mom’s “helper” if I’m around when she makes it.  She “allows” me to chop the radishes and the onion, or peel the eggs, but all under her watchful eye.  She’s militant about things being diced to the exactly correct size.

Yesterday I decided to take a chance and try to vegan-ize her potato salad.  I asked her for the recipe and what I got was basically a list of ingredients, since she measures nothing.

Today I did my best to re-create mom’s potato salad, and actually measure things as I went.  I think I did okay, so here’s what I came up with…

Mom’s Potato Salad – Vegan Version

2 1/2 lbs potatoes

6 medium radishes

1/2 red onion

2 to 3 stalks of celery

1 cup Vegenaise

1 tsp sugar

1 1/2 T. yellow mustard

Salt & Pepper

Boil the potatoes with the skin still on, until fork pierces them easily.  Drain into a colander and let them cool.  I waited about an hour or so.

While potatoes are cooling, finely dice the celery, radishes, and onion.

Mix Vegenaise, mustard, sugar, and salt & pepper to taste in separate bowl with a fork until smooth and well-mixed.

When potatoes have cooled, peel them and cut into cubes.  Carefully mix in the celery, radishes and onion.  Then fold in the Vegenaise mixture so as not to break up your potatoes.  If the mixture still seems too dry, add more Vegenaise by the spoonful until you reached the desired consistency…you want it to be creamy.  Taste and then re-salt & pepper to taste.

Mine is chilling in the fridge right now, but my initial impression?  It ain’t moms, but it ain’t bad!  It also doesn’t take kindly to photographs, not looking nearly as pretty as it should!

 I think I will enjoy some for dinner tonight with a vegan veggie burger.   Seriously yum.

P.S.  If anyone wants her “real” recipe, sub Miracle Whip for the Vegenaise and add 3 diced hard boiled eggs.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds yummy to me! Your Mom’s recipe is very similar to my Mom’s recipe for potato salad. Only my Mom does not add radishes. She does however add diced pickles! And our family requests it all summer long from my Mom! My boys even love it! I might try it with the radishes next time!

Comment by Kristine

pass the brats hot beef and a porterhouse for dessert!!!!!!!!!

Comment by uncle porky

Sounds similar to my families potato salad recipe too, but we also do chopped pickle or a little sweet relish plus some mustard powder and a combo of dried herbs (rosemary, fennel, and … something else. I can’t remember without looking it up). You’ve got me wanting to make some! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Comment by jae




Leave a Reply

