Jonesinforfood


A Short Hiatus
September 8, 2008, 1:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Sorry for the long time between posts…some of you know we’ve been in San Francisco for awhile visiting family.  I will be honest and admit that I did not, in fact, stick to my vegetarian ways while on the West Coast.  But…I’m back in action.

And appropriately, my first post in awhile is all about pickles.  That’s right.  I never really thought about blogging about them, but my father-in-law sent some of his favorite pickles back home from Wisconsin with D.Jones this weekend and you know what?  They are fantastic!  He actually has a family member get them for him in Ohio.

I have some favorite pickles myself…or rather…some that I like better than others.  But these are probably my new faves.  So I wonder…do other folks have a favorite pickle?  Are there other people out there like my father-in-law who actually get pickles shipped to them?  If you’re out there…let me know!  I am on a new mission to search high and low for the world’s best pickle. 

Perhaps we should begin with categories, though, because there are so many different varieties!  For instance, the ones just sent to me are of the hot and sweet variety.  They do have a nice kick from chili peppers in the jar with them, and I noticed when reading the ingredients list that they also have an addition I don’t often see in pickles…turmeric!  That indicates that these particular ones have an added health bonus, as well since tumeric is known to be a natural liver detoxifier, has been used in traditional Chinese medicine as treatment for depression, and is thought to be a metabolism booster. 

So…instead of popping a happy pill or running on a treadmill, perhaps you can just much on these…

and enjoy that additional glass of wine too!

Okay, maybe not, but wouldn’t it be cool? 

Anyhow…if you have a fave, let me know!  I’ll be sure to check ’em out and then write about it here~

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh, I grew up with Tony Packo’s hot dogs! Their chili sauce is the best!!

No fave pickle here. I’ll stick with hot dogs:)

Comment by kate




Leave a Reply

