Jonesinforfood


I’m Over It
August 20, 2008, 11:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I officially recovered from the “salmon scare” of last week and decided to make the salmon burgers that I had intended to make at that time.  D.Jones has been talking about how much he loved salmon patties when he was a kid, and so….I braved it.

They turned out better than I had imagined!

I know lots of folks make salmon burgers, but these were deeeelish!  Even Cooper devoured his, which is saying a lot!  So here’s how I made ’em…  I’ll call them:

D.jones Salmon Burgers

2 cans pink salmon (deboned and skinned, obviously!)  🙂

3/4 cup Panko

2 heaping teaspoons Dijon mustard

2 T. fresh lemon juice

1/4 c. finely diced red onion

1 whole egg, plus 2 egg whites

You know the rest o’ the drill.  Mix it all up. (yes mom….I even used my hands like you used to say works best).  Form into 4 patties.  I cooked mine on medium high in a non-stick pan with olive oil until nicely browned.  Fantastic!  I don’t know if it was the panko instead of regular breadcrumbs, or the fresh squeezed lemon juice or what, but they were really, really good.

The rest of the meal is a mixture of Minnesotan rices (wild rice plus some others) hand harvested by Native Americans.  Very good, but slightly time consuming to make (slightly over an hour), and some fresh peas.  Coops ate more in one sitting than we’ve ever seen him eat and dug into his salmon with both hands…literally.  He finished his plate with 1/2 of a sliced banana for dessert making this the healthiest meal he has consumed, we think since birth!  Score!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Panko breadcrumbs are SO good. And I love salmon. Love it. Yet I’ve never made a salmon burger. I may have to try this recipe this weekend. I’ll tell you if it’s a hit or miss with the fam!

My mom has a recipe for a salmon loaf that’s delish if you’re interested. Let me know.

Comment by Alicia




Leave a Reply

