Jonesinforfood


First Not-so-success
August 12, 2008, 1:58 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Tonight the Jones menu included salmon patties and a Brown Rice Al Fresco salad.  The salad took forever to make, but I did it during Cooper’s afternoon nap, so that worked out pretty well.  Had I waited to start dinner until around 4:30 as usual, we still wouldn’t have eaten…and it’s now 9 pm. 

The recipe for the salad I got off of Whole Foods Markets vegetarian recipe page.  it turned out pretty well and is chock full o’ veggies.  It’s basically diced up carrot, celery, onion, cucumber, radishes, fresh basil, fresh italian parsley and cooked long grain brown rice.  The dressing is a tangy blend of lemon juice, dijon mustard, sea salt, and honey.  It’s good…but not my favorite.  If it were awesome, I’d post the recipe.  it’s not awesome…just okay.

But now on to the horror of horrors.  D.jones bought the can of salmon that I was to use for the salmon burgers.  Last time, it was a small, squat can similar to the can that contains tuna, but this can was big like a soup can.  When I opened it up, I found out why.  Inside was seemingly an entire, disgusting salmon.  All I saw was what looked like vertebrae and then some skin.  Deeeeeeesgusting!  Go ahead, laugh.  My own mom did when I just told her about it.

My gag reflex went full bore as I leaned over the sink.  I dumped the fishy nastiness into a bowl and left it in the sink, and quickly changed plans to include frozen chik’n burgers instead.  You know…faux chicken.  It was the best I could do….

When D.Jones got home from work, he asked what was up and I relayed my story of the vile fish, which was still in the sink, waiting for him.  I couldn’t bear to even look at it to dump it down the disposal.   Gross with a capital G.

Consider me now salmon-free as well.  Ick.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Icky. Salmon should never come in a big soup can. Never.

Comment by Alicia

OK, I cannot even stomach fresh salmon, let alone canned salmon. I had to turn away from even reading it…Ughhh.
However, I think the salad recipe sounds delish! It was just OK? I would like to try it.
Kristine

Comment by Kristine

Okay…here’s the recipe Kristine…
http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/salad/brownricefresco.html
I followed it to a “t” originally, then found the lemon juice way too tangy for my taste, so I added slightlly more honey, slightly more salt, and about another tablespoon of Dijon. It’s good…but D.Jones thought it was still a little too lemony. Let me know if you try it and what you think!

Comment by whatsupwiththejoneses




Leave a Reply

