Jonesinforfood


First Success
August 11, 2008, 12:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Okay, I already wrote that I had a “meal plan” for this, my first week returning to a true meatless way of life, but the truth is, I didn’t really think Cooper would go for some of it.  I do have some packets of single serving Annie’s mac & cheese on hand for just such occasions, and tonight, I thought, would be one of them. I was wrong!  Kind of.

Tonight I made Vegetable Tofu Miso Soup served with fresh dinner rolls from Rustica Bakery around the corner, loaded up with homemade honey butter.    

 Yum!  D.Jones declared during dinner…..”this just tastes healthy!”  The soup was really just carrots, celery, red pepper, and corn in a broth made from water and mellow brown rice miso.  I added nori and some tofu sauteed in sesame oil to make it a little heartier.  Cooper loves soup, but I wasn’t sure he’d go for the mix of textures.  Turns out, he loved it!  I served his with small “Cooper-sized” asiago breadsticks, which he can’t get enough of, and the only real thing he rejected was the nori.  I kinda knew that would happen from our prior trips to sushi bars so it really was my fault when he spit it out all over the table.  We were able to salvage his soup, though, by removing the nori, and he ate the rest of it, tofu and all.  Yay!  One success down!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It looks pretty good. Especially the homemade bread! LOL I just couldn’t give up meat. But, I’m impressed by those who can. 🙂

Comment by Dawn

I am NOT a tofu fan, but that soup looks really good. I’d actually give it a try.

Comment by Alicia




Leave a Reply

